Troyan, A Legendary Actuarial Consulting Firm, For Pension Evaluations.

Court Admissible Reports Per Your Jurisdiction at an affordable cost.

We specialize in retirement plan analysis for divorce & economic loss matters

court admitted pension experts, available to testify nationwide.

Pension evaluations prepared for lawyers, mediators, & non-attorney litigants.

We guarantee your qdro gets approved!

headquarters of troyan, inc. Home of accucalc & accuqdro software

Pension Evaluation Lawyer Services Downloads Fee Schedule Pay Online Online Order Form
Pension Evaluation
Basic Pension Principles
Cases
Community Property
Dividing Marital or Community Property
Divorce & Retirement FAQs
Equitable Distribution
Experience with Your Plan
Pension Evaluation Issues
Pensions
Retirement Terms
Social Security Offsets
State Pension Evaluation Alerts
State Pension Evaluation Classification
State Specific Information
State Retirement Plans and Divorce Information
State Listing of Statuses Disallowing Personal Identities In QDROs
State Analysis of IRA Exemptions
Collection Laws and Exemptions by State
Tax Treatment in Pension Evaluation
Distribution from Qualified Plans
Webutation
Click here to learn more about pension evaluations
Get a pension evaluation in less than 1 week Click here to read and print our company forms

Collection Laws & Exemptions by State

Below find consumer protection laws and exemptions by state. Use this information as a starting point for your research - it is not legal advice. Consult an attorney for legal advice specific to your situation.

State

FDCPA Applies to

Original Creditors

Homestead Exemption

Vehicle Exemption

Bank Account

Wages

Alabama

N/A

$5,000 (can double)

None

$3,000

75%

Alaska

N/A

$70,200

$3,900

$1,820 or $2,860

$456-716

Arizona

N/A

$150,000

$5,000

$150

75%

Arkansas

N/A

Unlimited (<1/4 acre)

$1,200

$800 or $1250

75%

California

Yes

$50,000

$5,000 (2x)

$0

75%

Colorado

N/A

$30,000

$5,000

None

75%

Connecticut

N/A

$75,000 (2x if married)

$1,500

$1,000

75%

Delaware

N/A

None (if both owe $)

None

$500

85%

D.C.

Yes

Unlimited

$2,575

$850

75%

Florida

Yes

Unlimited

$1,000

None

100%

Georgia

N/A

$10,000 (can double)

$3,500 (2x)

$600

75%

Hawaii

Yes

$30,000

$2,575

None

80%

Idaho

N/A

$50,000

$5,000

$800

75%

Illinois

N/A

$15,000 (can double)

$1,200

$2,000

85%

Indiana

N/A

$7500 (can double)

None

$4,000

75%

Iowa

Yes

Unlimited

$5,000

$100

75%

Kansas

N/A

Unlimited

$20,000

None

75%

Kentucky

N/A

$5,000

$2,500

$1,000

75%

Louisiana

N/A

$25,000

None

None

75%

Maine

N/A

$25,000 (ask)

$5,000

$400

75%

Maryland

Yes

None (if both owe $)

$5,000

$6,000

75%

Massachusetts

Yes

$300,000

$700

$425

75%

Michigan

Yes

$35,300 or $52,925 if elderly or disabled

$3,250

None

75%

Minnesota

N/A

$200,000

$3,600

None

75%

Mississippi

N/A

$75,000

$10,000

None

75%

Missouri

N/A

$8,000

$1,000

$1,250

75%

Montana

N/A

$60,000

$2,500

None

75%

Nebraska

N/A

$12,500

$2,500 wildcard

None

85%

Nevada

N/A

$125,000

$4,500

None

75%

New Hampshire

Yes

$30,000

$4,000

$8,000

75%

New Jersey

N/A

None (if both owe $)

$1,000

$1,000

90%

New Mexico

Yes

$30,000 (may double)

$4,000

$2,000

75%

New York

Yes

Varies by county
See CVP § 5206

$4,000

$2,500

90%

North Carolina

Yes

$10,000 (may double)

$1,500

$500

100%

North Dakota

N/A

$80,000

$1,200

$7,500

75%

Ohio

N/A

$25,000

$3,225

$425 (2x)

75%

Oklahoma

N/A

Unlimited

$3,000

None

75%

Oregon

Yes

$25,000 ($30K couple)

$1,700 (2x)

$400

75%

Pennsylvania

Yes

None (if both owe $)

None

$300

100%

Rhode Island

N/A

$150,000

$10,000

None

75%

South Carolina

Yes

$50,000 (can double)

$5,000

$5,000

100%

South Dakota

N/A

Unlimited

$6,000

6k-Auto

75%

Tennessee

N/A

$5,000 ($7.5K cpl)

$4,000 wildcard

None

75%

Texas

Yes

Unlimited

Unlimited

None

100%

Utah

N/A

$20,000 (can double)

$2,500 or $3,500

None

75%

Vermont

Yes

$75,000 (can double)

$2,500

$1,100

75%

Virginia

N/A

$5,000 (+$500/kid 2x)

$2,000

None

75%

Washington

N/A

$40,000

$2,500

$500

75%

West Virginia

Yes

$25,000 (can double)

$2,400

$800+

75%

Wisconsin

Yes

$40,000

$1,200+

$1,000

75%

Wyoming

N/A

$10,000 (can double)

$2,400

None

75%

Notes:

  1. Alaska: $716/wk (head of family) or $456/wk (non-head of family)
  2. Florida: 100% (head of family only) or 75% for non-head of household
  3. Iowa: 75%, but yearly total limited
  4. California: $50k (single), $75k (married), $125K (65 or disabled)
  5. Delaware: 85% of disposable
  6. Illinois: 85% of gross
  7. New Jersey: 90% of gross, unless judgment-debtor earns more that 250% of federal poverty level, then court has discretion to use federal 25% exemption.
  8. New York: Account contains directly deposited exempt benefits, including Social Security, SSI, Veterans benefits, disability, pensions, child support, spousal maintenance, workers compensation, unemployment insurance, Public Assistance, Railroad Retirement benefits, and Black Lung benefits. Otherwise, $1,740 on all other accounts. See the New York LawHelp Consortium for more information.
  9. Tennessee: Up to $4,000 of any personal property, including a financial account, can be exempted. See Tennessee § 26-2-103 for details.
Visitor Security About Us Resources Contact Us
The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.